Recommendations for Campus Events
Streaming a video may diminish video and audio quality through conferencing software such as Zoom. In addition, some streaming platforms have copyright protection and encryption which prevents it from playing on the conferencing platforms.
Recommendations:
- Have attendees watch the film independently in a separate window or prior to the event for films in streaming collections that require login authentication for each viewer. Then, use Zoom for a community discussion. Specific restrictions are included in the descriptions.
- Explore the open streaming options listed below.
- Contact Diane Zydlewski (zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu) if you have questions or would like to cosponsor an event.
Library Streaming Video Collections
Streaming services have different licensure restrictions for access. Specific restrictions are listed with the individual streaming services. Please contact the Library if you have specific questions about use of content for an event.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- Requires individual log in for viewing off campus for both classroom use and events.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- Separate permission needs to be obtained for public performance of the videos in this collection.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- Limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged. Classroom showings include using conferencing platforms, such as Zoom. Public screenings include virtual events for the Emmanuel community.
Open Education Resource (OER) Video Content
The following resources are available for classroom and event viewing without further permissions:
- Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive at MITOnline access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.
- MIT Open CoursewareMIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of MIT course content. Find Audio/Video Lectures for your courses.
- Digital Lab Techniques ManualKimberly Berkowski, Sarah Tabacco, Aayesha Siddiqui, and Eileen Huang. RES.5-0001 Digital Lab Techniques Manual. Spring 2007. Massachusetts Institute of Technology: MIT OpenCourseWare, https://ocw.mit.edu. License: Creative Commons BY-NC-SA.
- PhET Interactive SimulationsInteractive, research-based science and mathematics simulations from the University of Colorado Boulder.
Video Content on the Web
The following resources are available for classroom and event viewing without further permissions:
- TED TalksTED is a nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks. TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 110 languages.
- YouTube LearningYouTube.com/learning is a destination designed to offer teens and adults quality learning content. Here you will find playlists that spark your curiosity and content ranging in subjects from physics to filmmaking.
- Netflix U.S. YouTube ChannelNetflix has made a selection of documentary features and series available on their Netflix US YouTube channel. Each title includes educational resources, which can be used by both students and teachers.
- Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive"[C]ontains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."
- Feature Film Collection of more than 3,900 films in the public domain, searchable by title, topic, genre, publication date
- LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection of more than 8,700 audio books, searchable
- Live Music Archive, more than 147,000 items browsable by year, artist, publication date
- Old Time Radio, more than 2,400 historical radio programs, searchable by title, topic, date
- WGBH Open VaultOpen Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives. Browse video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools for individual and classroom learning