Article Databases
"Peer-reviewed [refereed] journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal" (Ebsco Help).
- Explore the Suggested International Relations Journals.
- Project MUSE only contains scholarly publications. For the other databases, make sure that you limit the databases to peer-reviewed.
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Suggested Scholarly International Relations Journals
Note: There are many journals that specialize in a particular geographical region ( such Europe, Asia, Africa) even a particular country such as Turkey or China) or subject area such as terrorism or the economy.
* Foreign Affairs, although not peer-reviewed, is scholarly and will count towards the required sources.
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- Ebsco search for POLSC3403
- Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals under Limit your results.
- Search across the following databases: EconLit™ with Full Text, Business Source Premier, Military & Government, SocINDEX with Full Text, and Academic Search Premier.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAll journal titles in Project MUSE are peer reviewed, scholarly titles. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.) - Gale Academic OneFile (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
- Limit to Peer Reviewed Journals under More Options.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Need Help?
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Schedule an Appointment
Weekly News Assignment
- New York Times - Academic Pass This link opens in a new windowUse the TimesMachine site to explore over 150 years of Times journalism, as it originally appeared.
- New York Times publications This link opens in a new window
Searches across New York Times, Late Edition, New York Times (Online), New York Times International, New York Times Español, New York Times Magazine, New York Times (video), New York Times Book Review, and The Daily (podcast). Filter results by Publication Title to limit to a specific title.
Search for Books
Scholarly books are written by authors who have advanced degrees (e.g., PhD) in the field of study and the books are published by scholarly presses (e.g., university presses)
Selected eBook Collections
- Books at JSTOR This link opens in a new windowNote: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.)