Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Biology: Home

Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.)

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Note: Click on "Find it@Emmanuel" in the upper right of the detailed article record to link to Emmanuel Full-Text resources.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations fromapproximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

• On campus, log in with your SciFinder Account information (Register for a SciFinder Account )
• Off campus, log in with your Emmanuel account. You will, then, be prompted to log in with your SciFinder Account information (Register for a SciFinder Account )

Explore the SciFinder Training Materials including SciFinder Training Videos - Reference Searching.

A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.

• In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
• Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.

Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.)

Over 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.