Article Databases
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAll journal titles in Project MUSE are peer reviewed, scholarly titles. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- Gale Onefile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
- Use Academic Search Premier and click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search SocINDEX with Full Text along with other Ebsco Databases.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowFeatures are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycInfo contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications.
- Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including APA PsycArticles.
- Use Academic Search Premier and click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search APA PsycInfo along with other Ebsco Databases.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.
- Use Academic Search Premier and click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search CINAHL with Full Text along with other Ebsco Databases such as Medline.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Need Help?
Search for Books
Explore Emmanuel print and e-books by subject (from the last 5 years)
Reference Books (print and electronic)
- Encyclopedia of Gender in Media (Reference P96 .S5 E53 2012)
- The Essential Handbook of Women's Sexuality (Reference HQ29 .E835 2013)
- A Feminist Reader: Feminist Thought From Sappho to Satrapi
(Reference PN56 .F46 F4655 2013) - The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics (Reference HQ1236 .O99 2013)
- The Sage Handbook of Gender and Psychology (Reference BF692.2 .S24 2013)