Article Databases
Types of articles (secondary materials) in legal research:
- Law Review: A journal published by law students, includes articles by expert scholars and articles ("notes") by students. [Law review articles may or may not be peer reviewed.]
- Other publications also publish articles on legal topics. They may or may not be peer reviewed.
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only- Ebsco search for Law/LegalSearch across the following databases: Academic Search Premier and Military & Government Collection.
- Gale Academic OneFile (1980 - current) This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowContent of the U.S. and international criminal justice journals includes: criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Need Help?
Further Resources
- For a discussion of primary and secondary sources, see Legal Research at Princeton: U.S. Law and Secondary Sources in Legal Research (Washington University Law Library)