One chapter from a book on the general history of Christianity
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password. For more details on using Ebook Central explore the Proquest LibGuide.
Selected Resources
Print Books
- Encyclopedia of the Early Church REFERENCE BR 66.5.D5813 1992
- A history of Christianity in Asia, Africa, and Latin America, 1450-1990: A documentary sourcebook Reference BR145.3 .H57 2007
- People's History of Christianity REFERENCE BR 145.3 .P46 2010
- Story of Christianity BR 142 G66 2010 2 vols.
Three terms from a relevant encyclopedia on Christianity or history
Electronic Resources
Reference Book Collections
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
One article from a Scholarly Journal or one Chapter of a Book that addresses the specific topic in which you focus your research.
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only- Ebsco Search for THRS2209Search across the following databases: ATLA Religion Databases with ATLASerials; Art Full Text; Academic Search Premier; Humanities International Complete; Military & Government Collection; and SocIndex with Full Text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Book Chapters: Search the Online Catalog
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password. For more details on using Ebook Central explore the Proquest LibGuide.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Schedule an Appointment
