Print and E-Books
E-Book Collections
- Open Library, Internet ArchiveBooks are available to one borrower at a time using controlled digital lending.
To access the books, you will need to Sign Up for a Free Account.
- See also the Internet Archives Book collection
Finding Book Titles on a Topic (Book Request Form)
- Search Google Books
- Search Worldcat
Article Databases
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only- Ebsco search for HIST3404Search across the following databases: Art Full Text; Academic Search Premier; Humanities International Complete; Military & Government Collection; EconLit™ with Full Text; SocINDEX with Full Text
Note: Explore including other relevant databases by clicking on Choose Databases (above the search boxes).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Selected Journals
Emmanuel Library Contacts
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Schedule an Appointment
Background Information
Search Terms
- Ethnic Enclaves (Definition by The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies)
- Refugees (Definitions by The Columbia Encyclopedia)
- Immigration/Immigrant (Definitions by Encyclopedia of Global Studies)
- Diaspora (Definitions by The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science)
- Migration (Definitions by Encyclopedia of Geography)
Selected Reference Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Over 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
Selected Web Sites
- Global Boston (Boston College)See Eras of Migration and Ethnic Groups.