Assignment Requirements for Article
- Must be a professional publication. The below are approved sources for this assignment.
Please check with your professor for sources outside of this list. - Must be related to a U.S. law that is studied in this course.
Hint: Refer to the course syllabus for topic selection ideas, by Chapter and week. - Cannot be an op-ed or opinion piece.
- Current - from the last 12 months.
- Evaluate your sources using SIFT and SCARAB Methods (Evaluating Sources, McHenry County College)
See the Current Event in Business Law Assignment Guide (posted on ECLearn) for full details on the in class presentation and paper.
- Boston Globe (1980 - present) This link opens in a new windowBrowse by issue [Content is updated daily by 8 a.m.]:
- New York Times - Academic Pass This link opens in a new windowUse the TimesMachine site to explore over 150 years of Times journalism, as it originally appeared.
- New York Times publications This link opens in a new window
Searches across New York Times, Late Edition, New York Times (Online), New York Times International, New York Times Español, New York Times Magazine, New York Times (video), New York Times Book Review, and The Daily (podcast). Filter results by Publication Title to limit to a specific title.
- Newspapers through the Boston Public LibraryAccess the Wall Street Journal through this guide.
- How to register for a full-service library card for access to all the library resources.
- Note: Apply for a BPL eCard to access the library’s remotely-accessible electronic resources.
Fundamentals of Business LawOpen Textbook Library
Article Database Sources
Types of articles (secondary materials) in legal research:
- Law Review: A journal published by law students, includes articles by expert scholars and articles ("notes") by students. [Law review articles may or may not be peer reviewed.]
- Other publications also publish articles on legal topics. They may or may not be peer reviewed.
- Ebsco search for Business LawSearch across the following databases: Business Source Premier, Academic Search Premier, and Military & Government Collection.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowContent of the U.S. and international criminal justice journals includes: criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase.
See also the Law Legal guide.
- PowerPoint/Slides Tips: See the Presentation Skills Guide.
See also the Assignment requirements for the slides.
- Resources on Oral Presentations on the Learning Commons Toolbox (ECLearn)Includes videos on How to Prepare for a Class Presentation and How to Create Notecards for your Presentation.
- Public Speaking GuideResources to assist you with speeches, debates, and oral presentations. From Butler University.
APA Citations (See also the APA Guide for further resources.)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Ref. Desk BF 76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 2019-10-01
- American Psychological Association (APA): APA Style
- Style and Grammar Guidelines
- Reference Examples - Includes Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Newspaper Articles, Books, Chapter in an Edited Books, and Web Sites.
- In-Text Citations - Includes Author-Date Citation System, Appropriate Level of Citation, and Citing Secondary Sources.
- Instructional Aids - Includes Handouts and Guides and Sample Papers.
- Style and Grammar Guidelines
Citation Generator
Note: You are still responsible for your citations even when using a citation generator.
Always verify your citations with APA Style (References and In Text Citations).
- ZoteroBibAfter searching for your source or manually entering the information, select American Psychological Association, 7th edition from the citation options.
- Click on the source to update information.
- Click on the quotation mark icon to the right of your source for the in text citation. Include page number(s) for direct quotes.
- Copy individual citations or the complete list.
Course Librarian
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Schedule an Appointment