Search for Books
-
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password. For more details on using Ebook Central explore the Proquest LibGuide.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Over 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
Article Databases
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only-
Ebsco search for English/LiteratureSearch across the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier
- MLA International Bibliography
Offers detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association and coverage dates back to the 1920s. - Humanities International Complete
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 770 journals and full-text coverage for over 450 journals in Communication, Mass Media, and other closely-related fields of study.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window All journal titles in Project MUSE are peer reviewed, scholarly titles. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
-
Literature Online This link opens in a new window Texts of over 355,000 literary works with searchable, full-text criticism and reference resources for the study of literature in English. Literature Online also provides searchable indexes of literary criticism, including ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text of over 330 literature journals
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.)
Emmanuel College Contact
Media
-
Academic Video Online(AVON) Comprehensive video subscription that delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Kanopy through the BPL
- Apply for a BPL eCard now
- Visit the BPL's Kanopy platform here
- To start watching, click on the "Add Library Card" box and enter your BPL eCard number and eCard PIN/Password.