Competitors/Industry - MGMT1101 - Introduction to Business - Barrett/Guida

Competitors

Library Database Resources

Ebsco search for MGMT1101
Search across the following databases: Communication & Mass Media Complete; Academic Search Premier; SocINDEX with Full Text; and EconLit™ with Full Text.
- Click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to change the databases being searched.
- Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals under Limit your results.

Web Sites

Google Maps

Boston Public Library Databases

Explore the Business Guide for additional resources including LinkedIn Learning, Wall Street Journal, and many more.
Note: Access to the Boston Public Library (BPL) databases are available with either your BPL library card or BPL e-card.

Mergent Intellect (Access through the Boston Public Library)
Search for a company and, then, select the Industry Details tab on the company page.
Mergent Market Atlas (Access through Boston Public Library)
MorningStar Investment Research Center (Access through the Boston Public Library)
Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and hit enter. Under your company's name, there will be a "Quote" tab. On this tab, scroll down until you see "Competitors" located on the right side of the page. Or, you may select Industry Peers in the menu bar directly under the Quote tab.

Market Share/Business Ranking

Databases
Search Tip: Include, as a subject or keyword term, "market share" or ranking along with the industry descriptors; "company name" or ticker; or other features to be compared.

ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
Business Market Research Collection
Searches includes industry and company reports including:
- Hoover's Company Records
  Use the advanced search to search by NAICS to find companies in a specific industry.
- First Research Industry Profiles

Industry

There are two major systems used to classify the industries of a company, the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). These are useful for identifying companies within a given industry and for researching specific industries.

Library Database Sources

Example search: restaurant and industry and (trends or outlook or forecast)
The search results may be limited by Source Types > Industry Profiles.

ProQuest Central

Select Advanced for more search features.

Ebsco search for MGMT1101
Search across the following databases: Communication & Mass Media Complete; Academic Search Premier; SocINDEX with Full Text; and EconLit™ with Full Text.
- Click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to change the databases being searched.
- Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals under Limit your results.

Value Line

To access an industry profile, in the Browse Research tab (default), enter a public company within your industry in the top right box. In the resulting page, scroll down and click on the PDF icon under the heading Industry Analysis.
If you do not know a company within your industry, select your industry from the Industry Screens drop-down options below the heading Value Line Featured Lists. After clicking on a company name from the resulting list, follow the above instructions.
Note: Three concurrent users only.

From a detailed record of a company, use the menu to go to the Industry Details to view all related industry reports.
Additionally, search directly for industry information by keywords in First Research, which is found below the search box on the page.

See Also

Company/Industry
by Diane Zydlewski Last Updated Aug 16, 2025 83 views this year

Business Resources available through the Boston Public Library
Note: Apply for a BPL eCard to access the library’s remotely-accessible electronic resources.
- Explore the Business Guide for additional resources including Mergent Intellect, LinkedIn Learning, Wall Street Journal, Morningstar, and many more.
- A-Z List of Electronic Resources (most available with an eCard remotely).

MGMT1101 - Introduction to Business - Barrett/Guida: Competitors/Industry

Competitors

Market Share/Business Ranking

Industry