Home: East Asian Studies: Home

Dryland East Asia: Land Dynamics amid Social and Climate Change

Urban Modernities in Colonial Korea and Taiwan

Chinese Folklore Studies Today : Discourse and Practice

Diasporic Hallyu : The Korean Wave in Korean Canadian Youth Culture

The Problem of Women in Early Modern Japan

China and the Chinese in Popular Film : From Fu Manchu to Charlie Chan

Weaving Women's Spheres in Vietnam : The Agency of Women in Family, Religion and Community

Media Culture in Transnational Asia : Convergences and Divergences

The History of Central Asia : The Age of Islam and the Mongols

The Phoenix Years : Art, Resistance and the Making of Modern China

Folk Art and Modern Culture in Republican China

Multiculturalism in East Asia : A Transnational Exploration of Japan, South Korea and Taiwan

East Asian Development : Foundations and Strategies

Archaeology of East Asia : The Rise of Civilization in China, Korea and Japan

A Resurgent East Asia : Navigating a Changing World

Recommended Journals/Article Databases

= Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Recommended Journals

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

JSTOR
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. (See further details.)
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
Project MUSE
All journal titles in Project MUSE are peer reviewed, scholarly titles. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
Humanities International Complete
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
Gale Academic OneFile (1980 - current)
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
Google Scholar
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.