Home: Country Information: Home

General Country Information

The Statesman's Yearbook 2022 : The Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World
1 user at a time
Political Handbook of the World 2020-2021
Unlimited users
World Factbook
Gives country overview; provides information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, and more. Listed by country and information type.

Database Resources:

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.

Statistical Resources:

UNdata: A World of Information
Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More options). Direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries are available in the Country Data Services section.United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Presents comparable statistics regarding economic, social and environmental data for the international community. Explore the statistics by selecting the Data tab from the top menu and, then, browse by Topic or Country.
List of Foreign and International Governmental Statistical Agencies
“Provides access to statistical websites from foreign and international government organizations.” Foreign language sites here provide an option to translate into English; look for small print along the top of the page. Maintained by Purdue University.
Eurostat
"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg."
more...less...
Click on the Data top menu options and then choose Statistics A-Z to look up statistics by theme alphabetically; or to browse, select Database from the Data menu option. The Publications menu option includes access to the Eurostat yearbooks and the News menu option includes Themes in the Spotlight.

Harvard Map Collection: Digital Maps
“The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. Resources range from 16th century globes to modern maps and geographic information systems (GIS) layers.“ Harvard College Library.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
University of Texas Austin.

Note: Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.

Brookings Institution
A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC." Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
Chatham House, The Royal Institute of International Affairs
Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
Rand Corporation
A nonprofit research and analysis organization examining diverse issues worldwide with its headquarters campus in Santa Monica, CA.