Finding books
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers. To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password. For more details on using Ebook Central explore the Proquest LibGuide.
Reference Books
Background country information (See also the Country Information guide)
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
- Global Boston (Boston College)See Eras of Migration and Ethnic Groups.
Search Terms
- Asylum (Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics)
- Diaspora (Definitions by Encyclopedia of Identity)
- Emigration (International Encyclopedia of Human Geography)
- Immigration (Definitions by Encyclopedia of Global Studies)
- Migration (Definitions by Keywords for American Cultural Studies)
- Refugees (Definitions by Encyclopedia of Geography)
Article Databases
- Ebsco search for HistorySearch across the following databases:Note: Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search additional Ebsco Databases.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections.
- In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
- Since results may contain articles that are not peer reviewed, search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journal's peer-reviewed status.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAll journal titles in Project MUSE are peer reviewed, scholarly titles. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Note: AND, OR, NOT must be entered in all uppercase. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Click on the Full-Text@Emmanuel at the right of articles or the more option below the item record.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Emmanuel Library Contact
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Schedule an Appointment